Image: Close up Ragged Jewish Badge Hands Man @ Shutterstock
שיעורי בית
חוקרים מזמינים את הקהל להצצה אל מחקרם

Auschwitz in Film: 75 Years of Holocaust Cinema

Rich Brownstein

Auschwitz in Film: 75 Years of Holocaust Cinema

Marking International Holocaust Remembrance Day (January 27)

As Elie Wiesel famously wrote about Holocaust films, “Auschwitz is something else, always something else.” How has narrative film succeeded and failed the memory of the deadliest and most documented place on earth? From The Day the Clown Cried (1972) to Sophie’s Choice (1982), Schindler’s List (1993), Life Is Beautiful (1997), The Grey Zone (2001), The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas (2008), to Son of Saul (2015), what can be learned from these representations and many others?

Rich Brownstein, an expert on the history and use of Holocaust films.

After a career in Hollywood, Rich Brownstein has become a leading international expert concerning the history and use of Holocaust films. Since 2014, he has lectured for Yad Vashem’s International School for Holocaust Studies in Jerusalem, specializing in the use of Holocaust film history and pedagogy. Brownstein is the author of Holocaust Cinema Complete: A History and Analysis of 400 Films, with a Teaching Guide, 2021, McFarland Press.

Monday, 24 January, 8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

Mon
24.1.2022
24
ב
Jan
20:00
אירוע מקוון
Zoom
ללא תשלום
Free

עוד מסדרת 

שיעורי בית

Image: Close up Ragged Jewish Badge Hands Man @ Shutterstock
ENG
Visiting Scholars
Scholars invite the public for a glimpse into their research

Auschwitz in Film: 75 Years of Holocaust Cinema

Rich Brownstein

Auschwitz in Film: 75 Years of Holocaust Cinema

Marking International Holocaust Remembrance Day (January 27)

As Elie Wiesel famously wrote about Holocaust films, “Auschwitz is something else, always something else.” How has narrative film succeeded and failed the memory of the deadliest and most documented place on earth? From The Day the Clown Cried (1972) to Sophie’s Choice (1982), Schindler’s List (1993), Life Is Beautiful (1997), The Grey Zone (2001), The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas (2008), to Son of Saul (2015), what can be learned from these representations and many others?

Rich Brownstein, an expert on the history and use of Holocaust films.

After a career in Hollywood, Rich Brownstein has become a leading international expert concerning the history and use of Holocaust films. Since 2014, he has lectured for Yad Vashem’s International School for Holocaust Studies in Jerusalem, specializing in the use of Holocaust film history and pedagogy. Brownstein is the author of Holocaust Cinema Complete: A History and Analysis of 400 Films, with a Teaching Guide, 2021, McFarland Press.

Monday, 24 January, 8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

Mon
24.1.2022
20:00
Online Event
Zoom
Free of charge
Free

More from the series 

Visiting Scholars

אירועים נוספים

More events