Picture: A prayer book for the high holidays
שיעורי בית
חוקרים מזמינים את הקהל להצצה אל מחקרם

Textual Intimacy in Jewish Culture

Prof. Avriel Bar-Levav

The lecture will present and analyze the concept of "textual intimacy" in Jewish culture. Textual intimacy is the notion that the relationship between the reader or learner and the text is intimate and mutual: texts protect their learner and benefit him or her in various ways. This close and relationship between the reader and the texts is expressed in Jewish cultural history in several ways.

Prof. Avriel Bar-Levav is head of Judaic Studies at the Department of History, Philosophy and Judaic Studies at the Open University of Israel, and co-editor of Zutot: Perspectives in Jewish Culture, published by Brill. He studies Jewish libraries, history of the book Jewish broadsheets,Jewish attitudes towards death, personal writings and Jewish magic.

Lately he has co-edited and contributed to The Way of the Book: A tribute to Zeev Gries (Carmel, 2021); Textual Transmission in Contemporary Jewish Cultures (Studies in Contemporary Jewry, 31, Oxford 2020); Paths to Modernity: A Tribute to Yosef Kaplan (Merkaz Shazar, 2019).

Monday, 3 January, 8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

Mon
3.1.2022
3
ב
Jan
20:00
אירוע מקוון
Zoom
ללא תשלום
Free

עוד מסדרת 

שיעורי בית

Picture: A prayer book for the high holidays
ENG
Visiting Scholars
Scholars invite the public for a glimpse into their research

Textual Intimacy in Jewish Culture

Prof. Avriel Bar-Levav

The lecture will present and analyze the concept of "textual intimacy" in Jewish culture. Textual intimacy is the notion that the relationship between the reader or learner and the text is intimate and mutual: texts protect their learner and benefit him or her in various ways. This close and relationship between the reader and the texts is expressed in Jewish cultural history in several ways.

Prof. Avriel Bar-Levav is head of Judaic Studies at the Department of History, Philosophy and Judaic Studies at the Open University of Israel, and co-editor of Zutot: Perspectives in Jewish Culture, published by Brill. He studies Jewish libraries, history of the book Jewish broadsheets,Jewish attitudes towards death, personal writings and Jewish magic.

Lately he has co-edited and contributed to The Way of the Book: A tribute to Zeev Gries (Carmel, 2021); Textual Transmission in Contemporary Jewish Cultures (Studies in Contemporary Jewry, 31, Oxford 2020); Paths to Modernity: A Tribute to Yosef Kaplan (Merkaz Shazar, 2019).

Monday, 3 January, 8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

Mon
3.1.2022
20:00
Online Event
Zoom
Free of charge
Free

More from the series 

Visiting Scholars

אירועים נוספים

More events